The Form Flow feature allows you to create customized flows of published forms for a streamlined user experience. With this feature, users can complete forms in a seamless sequence, with the option to designate whether each form is answered once or multiple times.
You can accommodate various forms’ types, including those requiring signatures, those without or combining both.
The Form Flow Editor supports editing, publishing, and unpublishing form flows, giving you complete control over your form flows.
To ensure that no form template in the form flow is unpublished, warnings and indicators have been added. This helps you keep track of all published form templates within a form flow and ensure a smooth user experience.
Form Flow is mobile responsive, providing a consistent user experience across all devices.
How to create a form flow?¶
- Open the New Form Flow sub-menu under the Form Designer menu.
- Add Form flow name - it is an obligatory field.
- Connect Forms - the user can select a form from the drop-down list under Add Form. Only published forms are visible in the list.
- Mark selected settings on the connected forms list.
- Go to Publish settings.
- Click on Save&Publish.
- The link for the form flow is ready to use.
Settings on Connected Forms¶
Start form - the user can decide which form should be the first form in the form flow. Only one form can be selected as a start form. If the user does not select any form as a start form, the first form will be chosen as the first form by default.
Required - the user can decide which forms are required. The user can select multiple forms in the form flow. If the form is required, the user cannot submit the form flow without filling in this form.
Allow deleting answer set - the user can answer the form and later delete it from the overview view. The user can select multiple forms in the form flow.
Allow multiple answers - the user can answer the same form multiple times. The user can select multiple forms in the form flow.
The user can publish the Form Flow by clicking Save&Publish. The link to the Form flow is available after publishing the form. When the Form flow is published, the settings are visible in the Read Only Mode. If the user wants to make changes to the Form flow, he/she has to unpublish the Form flow first.
Amount of days until invalid - the user can restrict access to initiated form flow instances that are not submitted after a specific amount of days.
Example of usage:
- set the ‘amount of days until invalid’ to 2 under Publish settings on the Form flow
- publish the flow, copy the link and send it to the customer
- there is no time limitation for the customer to open the link
- if the customer clicks on the link and enters the form - he/she has 2 days to finish answering the form and submit the answers
- on the 3rd day, the customer’s instance won’t be available and they will have to open a new one from their email
Prevent access to completed session - once you have completed your form flow, it cannot be accessed from the incognito window or a different browser (it can always be opened from the same browser unless the cookies were cleared).
Unpublishing the form belonging to the form flow¶
The user gets a pop-up warning info when opening a form from the Form Template list if the form is published and active in the published Form Flow.
If one of the forms belonging to the form flow was unpublished before the Form flow was published, the user will see the visual indicator informing him/her about the issue. The form flow designer will not be able to publish the form.
If one of the forms belonging to the form flow is unpublished, during the time, when the Form flow is published, the link is not accessible anymore. The user gets instructions on how to fix the form flow. If the user tries to access the Form Flow, he/she is redirected to the ‘Could not find the form flow’ webpage.
Form flow overview¶
After opening the form flow from the link, the user is automatically redirected to the Form, which was set as the start form. After answering the first form, the user is redirected to the Overview.
Here the user sees how many forms are left to be answered. The list of the completed forms is sorted by the filled-in time. All the answered forms are editable.
If the link was unpublished in the meantime, the user will be redirected to ‘Could not find the form flow webpage’.
Depending on the settings in the form flow editor, the user might see different options in the overview.
Allow deleting answer set - in the Overview, there will be a bin icon next to the form. The user can delete the answered form and answer it again.
Required - the system will inform the user that a required form still has not been answered. The user cannot submit the Form flow if the required forms are completed.
Allow multiple answers - in the Overview, the user sees the form he/she already filled in the dropdown. The form can be answered multiple times.
Form flow list¶
The user can access all the form flows existing in the system from this list. The user can open the form flow directly from the list, filter, sort the columns or mass delete the form flows using Actions. A graphic indicator in the list informs the user that one of the forms belonging to the Form Flow was unpublished.
‘Finish text and redirects’ and ‘Send Email’ functionalities available under Form Settings are disabled for the end user if the form is part of the Form Flow.
E-signing in the Form Flow¶
The flow may contain forms requiring e-signing; we support e-signing with Scrive, Signicat and Verified.
The signing status shows which forms were completed and which are awaiting signing.
On the example below where Scrive is the signing provider Test Scrive 4 has set the Invitation, therefore the user can sign it directly from the link.
in the Form Flow including forms requiring e-signing the user gets one notification per form with invitation/confirmation.
When the information entered in Form is not correct or integration is misconfigured, it can happen that the signing will fail. In this case, the user will be informed about it and the status will be set to Failed.